Rough days...

Today and yesterday was quite rough and I feel very exhausted now...

First, I should describe my job: I work 7 hours monday - thursday at a school for youths with problems. Some of them have been beaten by their parents, others have been criminals and drug addicts and others have mental and social problems. They are between 12 and 25 and can't go to a normal school or manage to have a job. That's why they are here, because they have no other place to be. Some of them lives at the school and others live at home and only come during the day.

Yesterday morning one of the youngsters got furious and lost control... He threws things across the room and tried to hit everyone around him, including me. I got hit, but I wasn't hurt. We got the other students out of the room and finally he calmed down a bit... After that he went to his room and slept for an hour and then he was back to normal again, apologizing for what he had done.

Then this morning, the same thing happened again, with another younster... She was totally blinded by rage for no apparent reason. It was terrible to see someone so lost. She was kicking and screaming all the time, when she usually is very nice to everyone.

It's hard to put these situations to words, the feeling of being there can't be written in words. If you haven't experienced something similar, you can't really understand it.

So I should study, but I'm finito right now.

One good thing though, was that I got a calendar for 2008 from Sanna, a calendar she made herself (with a little help). I'm really glad to have it and it will always be a memory of my time as a volunteer. It also included some pictures of people I'd forgotten. Thanks a lot Sanna!

I really hope it's going to be a nice weekend, for me and for all my readers.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0