Struggling with studies

I've always had an easy time with school, since I have easy to learn from books and listening to the teacher.
But still I've always told people that has difficulties with school that they at least learn how to struggle for something, they learn how to put aside your desires and just do what you must do. I never had to learn that, until now.

Today I had 82 study points left to do, which is roughly equivalent to 82 hours of studies. I have approximately two weeks to get these studies done. I haven't really struggled with my studies so far, I have just sometimes done them and sometimes not. I made a very good study plan, but I didn't follow it.

I had a meeting today with Vick, my teacher, and Gerda, the headmaster of the school who also is the one who will determine wheter I will go to Africa or not. We talked about the studies and I was convinced that I couldn't make those points in these two weeks. Then Gerda talked to me and asked me if I knew what it meant to fight for something. I know what it means: to do something you think is more important than yourself. Then she said that in Africa they need this kind of people and that if I wanted to go to Africa, I had to begin to fight for my studies. That really motivated me, actually, because it is absolutely right. When I'm in Malawi, I have to fight if I'm going to make a difference. So I made a study plan and sure, I can get these points before the last of January, if I just really go for it. Now I have begun with a good start, so I'm already ahead of the plan, which is how it's supposed to be. I also planned to be finished with my studies the 29th of January, even though I know that I probably will leave as earliest the 1st of February. Still, it's better to have some extra time outside the plan, so that you still can make it if something goes wrong on the way.

During the days we are now preparing the food for the New Years concert which will take place on Saturday. 1700 people need something to eat and at our school we'll fix the food for them. It's really really monotonous work, but I don't have so much against it.

I'm also reading "Queen of the Damned" (Author: Anne Rice) now, it's a really really good book and I recommend it to all people! But first you have to read the two previous books, "Interview with the Vampire" and "The Vampire Lestat". They are also really really good, although Interview with the Vampire can be seen as a film if you don't like to read that much. The movie "Queen of the Damned" isn't even a tenth as good as the book, I can assure you of that!

Well well, that's all from me for now!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0